Is Greenland on your Bucket List?

P1000576

Photo taken: 1 July 2012 in Oqaatsut, Greenland (69*N 51*W)

It amazes me how people in every corner of this world dream to visit Greenland – in Australia, in Brazil, in Serbia, the list goes on. I am currently analyzing the results for a survey/contest that Visit Greenland ran in the autumn, and people all over the world participated. There was one simple question: “Why do you want to go to Greenland?” and the winner got a trip for 2 to Greenland. So many of the responses are incredibly touching – written by people who have dreamed of visiting Greenland their entire lives!

It makes me think. Greenland was never on my radar before 19 December 2011… not even slightly. But all it took was watching thisΒ short video for me to see instantly that Greenland was everything I never knew I wanted. It was more than just thinking it was beautiful nature or cool music – it was a feeling that this was my calling!

So for those of you who have Greenland on the “Bucket List” – and also for those of you who don’t – I do sincerely hope you get there one day because it is simply the MOST magical place on Earth, and it just might change your life!

If any of you care to share why you dream of Greenland, please feel free to comment below πŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “Is Greenland on your Bucket List?

    • Thank you for your comment!

      Well, it IS cold for many months of the year, but in summertime (June, July & August), the temperature is quite pleasant! Of course, there is always the chance of windy or rainy weather.

      In Summer 2012 it reached nearly 21*C/70*F in Nuuk, and I was suntanning on the terrace! But in Summer 2013, I do not think it got warmer than 10*C/50*F.

      However, the low humidity magically makes the air feel warmer than the thermometer says πŸ™‚

      Cheers!

  1. I am also there in the list of people who would like to travel to greenland. Whenever I think about greenland, only white color comes to my mind, and which is something I had never seen in my life, being close to the equator.

    Hope one day I’ll make it.

    • Thank you for your comment!

      I hope you make it one day! There are many places where you can see the white color you dream of, especially if you visit during the winter or spring πŸ˜‰ But even in summer, you can reach the Inland Ice or see wonderful icebergs floating in the water.

      But perhaps you will be surprised to find that you can find MANY colors in addition to white πŸ™‚ Greens, blues, pinks, and purples, to name a few!

      Cheers!

      • Yea, white was the only color I could realate to greenland before I started exploring this forum.
        Now I know, there present all colors in Greenland including green πŸ™‚
        Thanks a lot for sharing the images and information on this beautiful place.

Leave a Reply

