Handmade Sealskin Crafts in Greenland, Part 2

Never Too Much of a Good Thing

After writing Part 1 about handmade sealskin crafts this morning (a short How-To on making a decorative sash out of sealskin, with a sweet personal story behind it) I inspired myself so much that I used a few more hours today to play around with the material and see what I could come up with!

My pride and joy was this beauty – a mobile phone pouch 🙂 It is obviously fashionable as it is made of 100% fantastic red sustainable Greenlandic sealskin, and I embellished it with a cut-out of an Ulo (a woman’s knife / a classic Greenlandic symbol).

What’s more is, this phone pouch is actually a highly functional piece! In winter, the temperatures in Greenland can reach -30*C / -22*F. Such extreme temperatures have strong effects on technology like mobile phones, cameras, etc., and more than once my iPhone has shut off due to cold temperatures, even with a full battery! So this phone pouch serves to insulate a phone and protect it from extreme temperatures.

IMG_6373

Other Loot

The Ulo cut-out negatives from my phone pouch gave me a pair of small Ulos that I could well imagine turning into a pair of dangling earrings.

I also tried creating a bracelet. What started as an idea for a solid Cuff turned into this whimsical buckle-design bracelet. The fur on the strap faces a different direction than the fur on the square piece, creating a bit of texture with the opposing fur grains.

IMG_6375

With a creative mind, the possibilities are endless. What will you create today?

One thought on “Handmade Sealskin Crafts in Greenland, Part 2

Leave a Reply

