#FjordLife – Music Festival in Qooqqut

dscn3633

In early September there’s an annual event called Qooqqut Festival that takes place just outside Nuuk, the capital city of Greenland. It is a celebration of being together with friends and family listening to good music and soaking in the most beautiful natural surroundings on the planet.

I got to attend this year, and it was just the most perfect ‘goodbye’ to summer, as just a few days later I was traveling out of the country for 6 weeks on business! (And when I returned, it was already winter.)

Qooqqut Festival is a full-day no-alcohol event with music, art workshops, demonstrations, face-painting, and food, so bring the whole family – kids, grandparents and even the dog. When you’re in the fjord, there’s room enough for everyone!

Watch this film with fantastic drone footage (you’ll never believe minute 2:29 is real life!!) or Read the story here, or both 🙂

5 thoughts on “#FjordLife – Music Festival in Qooqqut

      • Hi Sarah, your blog is awesome. Greenland is in my bucket list. I admire you for moving there. How did that come about?

      • Hi again,

        Thank you for the compliment! I really hope you make it here one day – it is such an amazing place 🙂

        I started working up here in 2012 as an intern at the national tourism board, and afterward I continued the working relationship with them as an external consultant, all the while traveling back and forth between Greenland and USA. It quickly felt like I had two lives. Finally, last October I ‘jumped off the cliff’ and decided to choose the Greenland life, and I’ve never regretted that decision for a moment 😀

        Best,
        Sarah

Leave a Reply

